top of page

Working With DUMEBI 💋

Hello,

I am back with another blog post. But this time I am going to keep it quiet short as I ma running low on time. I thought I would keep you all updated here on my Fashion Blog; about how everything is going for me, as I develop into a designer/print/fashion illustrator, and gain more and more experience.

As you may have already heard I did a small internship with Bruce Oldfield (I have already written about my experience there in a previous post; you can find that in the #Internships tag to the right of this post.)

So I though I would share a quick little insight into my other Fashion internship; which I have just finished; as it went really well, starting from the first day.

I worked for a young fashion-branded company (and as you may know, there is not pay involved, as with a lot of Fashion companies). The Fashion company was called: Dumebi. Like I said they are a young start up business, created by the designer: Barbara Bisoah. i was lucky to work with her straight away during my whole internship. She's an amazingly glam person, who loves beads and glitter; everything glam. With a polite attitude; she was very considerate and understanding, and was willing to let me work for her brand and help out on the days I was free, and not when force me when I was busy.

Her studio is based in her garage, (at the back of her parent's house). But it's not as it sounds; it's a stunning little place, with light pink painted walls, and fabric everywhere, with roughs ketches, (as you would expect, in a fashion studio). ✨ I loved the feel of it in there, really small, but nice to work in, ✨

She started her business in Paris, then started to work in her garage studio in North London. (I was also happy with the location, as it was just under 5 miles from my house; so very easy to get to, and it was in the same borough as where I live.) Unlike my previous internship with Bruce Oldfield, which i had to travel nearly 2 hours for, (and that's just one way).

I said was going to keep this post short, so I'll stick to my agreement.

The tasks I was given; cutting lace (for the new collection); a bit of pattern cutting (originally she only had size 6 bodice blocks, so she wanted bigger ones; like 8's and 10's), and all the other little things like cleaning and organised the studio.

Generally the first day was a little long, as i was given only one task for the whole day, but i understand as Barbara was not feeling too good that day.

To conclude this review, I would say, a stunning glam designer, and it was a privilege to assist her young company: Dumebi out. 💗💕

🧐 (Oh, and I've included some secretive photos from inside the Dumebi North London Fashion Studio.) 👀

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page